“U R ALIVE”

Perhaps it is considered an act of vandalism, but in Utah, they get away with it. Typically bearing the obligatory Welcome home Elder/Sister So-And-So, this overpass cup homage was very different.

U R ALIVE

Three “words”, seven letters, and two spaces. Something so light, so simple, hit me like a ton of bricks falling off a truck. I’m not aware of the “tagger’s” intention for this statement, but it meant something to me.

You are alive! There is blood pulsing through you veins, electrons jumping from neuron to neuron, inhale and exhale. You are alive!

Get off your ass butt! Go do what you love. Don’t let anybody tell you that what you want in life is wrong. Dress how you want. Live life on your terms. Confess your love for him. Tell your mother you forgive her. Visit your grandma before it’s too late. Run a 5K. Climb Kilimanjaro. Go back to school. Drop out of school. Finish that novel. Apply for your dream job. You are alive!

In short:

Only when we are no longer afraid do we begin to live.

–Dorothy Thompson

Be brave, for you are alive!

I wish I could’ve taken a picture of it, but I was driving dow the Interstate at 85 75 miles an hour. I’ll do ya one better!

So now I’m standing on the overpass
Screaming at the cars, hey

I wanna get better


I didn’t know I was lonely
‘Til I saw your face

I wanna get better


I didn’t know I was broken
‘Til I wanted to change

I wanna get better

 

–Bleachers

 

I WANNA GET BETTER

Courtesy of Sarah Nowell (I didn’t actually ask her if I could use it, sorrynotsorry.)

 
Just remember, You are alive!
 
 
 
 

2 thoughts on ““U R ALIVE”

  1. I love your post- great timing!

    And, we must live by each other… I saw the same overhanging sign and thought many of the things you did… small world…

    Like

Leave a comment